Press room

For media enquiries please contact


Simeone running for coach of the year

Diego Simeone, Atletico Madrid head coach, is one of the 10 names shortlisted by FIFA for Coach of the Year. Simeone enjoyed yet another successful season in Madrid, making the Champions League final for the second time in 3 years. Atletico was also in the running for the domestic La Liga title right until the end of the season, finishsing a mere 3 points behind winners FC Barcelona.


Also shortlisted is Portugal coach Fernando Santos, whose team won the first ever international tournament for the country, beating France in the Euro 2016 final.


The winner of The Best FIFA Men’s Coach 2016 will be chosen through a combined voting process, in which 50% of the decision will be based on the choices of all captains and head coaches of national teams around the globe. The other 50% will be split between the result of an online public ballot with football fans and submissions from a selected group of over 200 media representatives from the six continents.


The final lists of three nominees will be announced on 2 December.


All the candidates:


Chris Coleman (Wales), Didier Deschamps (France), Pep Guardiola (Bayern Munich, Manchester City), Jurgen Klopp (Liverpool), Luis Enrique (Barcelona), Mauricio Pochettino (Tottenham), Claudio Ranieri (Leicester), Fernando Santos (Portugal), Diego Simeone (Atletico Madrid), Zinedine Zidane (Real Madrid).